Price Watch
Available on the iPhone

Clapton by Eric Clapton

  • Artist:Eric Clapton
  • Media:Audio CD
  • Label: Warner Bros
  • Released: 27 September 2010
    Read More
    • Travelin' Alone
    • Rockin' Chair
    • River Runs Deep
    • Judgement Day
    • How Deep Is The Ocean
    • My Very Good Friend The Milkman
    • Can't Hold Out Much Longer
    • That's No Way To Get Along
    • Everything Will Be Alright
    • Diamonds Made From Rain
    • When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful
    • Hard Times Blues
    • Run Back To Your Side
    • Autumn Leaves

Retailer Prices

CDs - NewMP3 Downloads
Retailer Price Postage Total Availability Shop
Sorry, no voucher codes available at the moment

Related Items


  • Liam Cromar - 31/10/2010

    3 Stars

    It may be somewhat unusual for an artist to release a second eponymous album after 40 years of solo work, but perhaps there's more to the title than meets the eye. In fact, there's only one Clapton composition to be seen ("Run Back To Your Side"), and even that's a shared credit. One possible interpretation is that the title is, despite first impressions, not at all ego-centric, but more a nod to all his influences. Clapton could be saying, in effect, "This is Clapton, but Clapton owes these guys."

    Whatever the real reasons behind the title, it's a delight to hear more of the sublime touch of the wonderfully laid-back J. J. Cale, indisputably one of his major influences. Cale contributes two fine tracks: the smoky "River Runs Deep", and the groovy "Everything Will Be Alright". Compared to their 2006 duet album "The Road to Escondido", however, the album displays more of a mixture of styles, going from a traditional blues howler (Walter Jacobs's "Can't Hold Out Much Longer"), through light 30s pop tunes ("My Very Good Friend the Milkman", "When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful"), to the up-tempo "Run Back To Your Side", which sounds as if it could easily have appeared on his 1977 album "Slowhand".

    What's the conclusion? Well, although technical brilliance and stunning guitar solos do put in a suitably restrained appearance, if that's all you're interested in, this probably isn't an album for you. If, on the other hand, you appreciate the finer points of songcraft, you'll enjoy the care that has clearly been lavished on this set by this musical giant-and you'll come to appreciate his lesser-known friends and influences.